Becoming a Writer Who Reads

Perspective book series - Love at first plight - readingFor nearly a year, Amanda and I have been pouring all of our “free” time into the rewriting of Love at First Plight, which then turned into hours, days, and weeks of editing (and editing, and editing).

Throughout that time, the only fiction reading I did had to do with my own book (aside from a stretch of time in which I read 14 Superman/Batman-crossover graphic novels, but we don’t need to go there, right now). As much as I loved living inside the world of my own book, the process somehow managed to disconnect me from the works of other writers.

I wasn’t worried about it, at the time, but once Love at First Plight was published and I promised myself a break from reading those pages, I found myself playing game apps on my tablet, instead of reading. Shame on me!

The problem was, I had no idea what to read. In fact, I actually felt nervous about getting back into books again! It was as though I was afraid that I wouldn’t be able to find my way into someone else’s fictional world. Could I really be locked in Qarradune, forever?

Being the determined (that’s such a kind way to say “stubborn”) person I am, I decided to ease my way back into the fiction of other writers, once more. I picked up a copy of Lyddie, by Katherine Paterson (Jacob Have I Loved, Jip, Bridge to Tarabitha). I have to say, I enjoyed every minute of it. I only wish that there was a second book, because I would have liked to continue following the main character! I’m looking forward to the next book that I’m going to read, too, The Palace of Laughter, which is the first in The Wednesday Tales book series.

Am I looking forward to getting back into Qarradune? I sure am! Amanda and I have already started Book 2 of the Perspective series and I am already head-over-heels in love with it. But I’m glad to say that even though I am a writer, I can still consider myself a reader.

2 Comments

Filed under Julie Campbell

2 responses to “Becoming a Writer Who Reads

  1. Have you read any of Guy Gavriel Kay’s books? he creates alternate histories in which he explored European, British, Byzantine and Chinese alternate cultures. His book on an other-Tang-Dynasty China, “Under Heaven,” is a masterpiece.

    Like

  2. Sorry about the spelling and tense errors in the previous post.

    Some copy-editor I am! 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

